Being my own boss!

Yeah yeah yeah! I have heard it all before too! I always say the difference between the having and the dreaming is the doing, and that is the one area that needs a lot of love. I say happiness is a constant vigil. Everything is a vigil! Everything that you want to remain positive requires a vigil. Neglect is one of the most devastating forces in our happiness. When things are neglected they become ugly, unloved, and it shows.

I was in a discussion with someone about what I want for my kids. I want my kids to succeed in life, and that requires them to be their own boss. So when I say be your own boss, I don’t mean that everyone needs to work for themselves, I’m saying that one needs to be their own boss over their world, and what is contained within. I’ve decided I want to become a writer. I did. I think I write well, and I have a great deal of stories and ideas I want to talk about. I’ve never been as clear about what I want to do, and I realized that declaration alone forces me to be my own boss. I need to get things going, and right now, I don’t know which way is up. My problem always stems from this fear of not knowing. I don’t know how to publish a book, so I will wait until a publisher sails through the air, and lands at my doorstep. Well so far, that strategy was not as bold as I had hoped since it’s not worked. Time will tell, but in the meantime, I have realized that I could do a lot of work on my own to figure out how to get published. I’m on the journey, and here I am step two or three away from the billion of other steps and obstacles that block me from my path.

Stay the course!! The constant vigil required to be one’s own boss must be adhered to. You can’t not show up to work without repercussions, so why should this be different? Rhetorical, yes, I know the answer is there is no difference. I have to get a schedule going for each day, and what I’m going to do. So this is it. My blogs, are going to be my attempts at trying to take control of my life. Objectives, one get organized. Oh sounds sooooooooo easy, doesn’t it? Doesn’t it all sound so easy? The truth, that I have come to find, is that it all becomes easy once you learn how to do it, and the only way to learn how to do it, is to do it. Just do it! Brilliant slogan, and it’s the first step into learning. Dive in. Someone amazing showed me an app called Cozi which apparently helps organize a great deal of your life. I am sure there are many apps out there that can do it, but I’m going to try this one. If I stay vigilant on organizing the day to day, and work on what I want to do with my life everyday, then surely my odds will increase stumbling onto the path that I wanted to be all this time.

So this is me, Joey Fazzone, punching the clock as the employee because I’m the boss, and I need to be working. I have to pick my battles, and keep all my goals manageable. It’s too easy to be overwhelmed by all the things I need to do. Well, for now, I need to blog. I need to empty my head and talk about what I want to talk about. This is what I want my blog to be about. I’m the boss! I need to show that my hard work is focused on what’s important to me bringing the abstract into clarity.

My number one goal in life is to be happy.

Nothing has ever changed in all these years. I know it sounds provincial to have this basic goal, but I feel this goal requires a lifetime to achieve it. I am the boss of my own existence. I am in a time and place where I am fortunate to have so many tools and freedoms to do so. I am going to do what I can to embrace ever opportunity to enjoy this, and live every day looking for the positives in the negatives in the positives, and in between. I know life is challenging, and for many it’s more challenging, but I only know that most of my barriers are inside of me, and being a good boss is tearing down the obstacles and creating new paths when none exist.

There are no easy ways to do much that is really important. Dedication takes on many forms, and is required in order to make life work for you. I’m dedicated to being a good father, being a good partner to my sweetie, finding avenues to express myself, embracing the moment for what it is, and act with purpose and integrity. I am who I am, and proud of that. I am my own boss, and I’m going to do the work!

One thought on “Being my own boss!

Leave a Reply

